Lieutenant Colonel (Ret) James A. Mosser Senior Army Instructor (SAI)

Sergeant Major (Ret) Arnold L. Lewis Army Instructor (AI)


History of Army at Pueblo County High School JROTC

The Army Junior Reserve Officer’s Training Corps was established in 1916 under the provisions of the National Defense Act of 1916. With World War I looming on the horizon, this program was established with the intent of providing military training to young men in high school in preparation for service in the US Army. Over time, the program and its mission evolved. In 1973, girls were admitted into the program and the mission changed to its current purpose of “motivating young people to be better citizens.”

The Pueblo County High School Army Junior Reserve Officer’s Training Corps (JROTC) Hornet Battalion was established on 1 July 1968 by Headquarters, United States Army General Order Number 37.

The first JROTC classes were taught during the fall of 1968.  The first Senior Army Instructor was Colonel Wilbur Hilton and the first Army Instructor was Master Sergeant William Petrie.

The Hornet Battalion has been in existence for 42 years.  During those 42 years, the Battalion earned an Honor Unit with Distinction rating 21 years and an Honor Unit rating 18 years.  The Battalion is currently an Honor Unit with Distinction.


Past instructors are as follows:

Senior Army Instructors

  • LTC(R) James A. Mosser 2015 thru Present
  • MAJ(R) Austin K. Mikasa                            1995 thru 2015
  • CPT(R) Daniel Freitas                                 1994 thru 1995
  • LTC(R) Donald V. Hallock                           1983 thru 1994
  • LTC(R) Charles Smith                                 1982 thru 1983
  • LTC(R) Frank W. Laskowski                        1975 thru 1982
  • COL(R) Wilbur S. Hilton                              1968 thru 1975

Army Instructors

  • SGM(R) Arnold L. Lewis                    2010 thru Present
  • SGM(R) Rodney N. Smith                 2008 thru 2010
  • SFC(R) Paul K. Montez                     2007 thru 2008
  • MSG(R) Carl L. Cordova                   2001 thru 2007
  • MSG(R) James L. Jones                  1985 thru 2001
  • MSG(R) Dave Rau                            1978 thru 1985
  • 1SG(R) Jack McNichols                   1973 thru 1993
  • MSG(R) Warren N. Petrie                 1968 thru 1973


Leave a Reply